Local newsRecent Post

Senedd election: candidates for Penarth and Cardiff South

THE election nominees for the Senedd election, on May 6, are being announced throughout the day.

These are the Cardiff South and Penarth candidates:

  • Nasir Adam, Plaid Cymru
  • Paul Campbell, UKIP Scrap the Assembly/Senedd
  • Matt Friend, Propel: Wales Needs Champions
  • Vaughan Gething, Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Alan Charles Golding, Freedom Alliance: No Lockdowns, No Curfews
  • Angus Hawkins, Gwlad – The Welsh Independence Party
  • Lisa Joy Peregrine, Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party
  • Alan James Pick, Reform UK
  • David Craig Rolfe, Independent
  • Leighton Owen Rowlands, Welsh Conservative
  • Helen Rose Westhead, Green Party
  • Alex Wilson, Welsh Liberal Democrats

We will update when the Police and Crime Commissioner candidates are confirmed.


Penarth traders ‘looking forward’ to reopening their shop doors

UK to reach Covid herd immunity ‘within days’, scientists say

Debenhams announce ‘incredible’ closing down sale – full list of stores

There are three ways people can vote in the Senedd and Police and Crime Commissioner election: by post, by appointing someone they trust to vote in their place (known as a proxy vote), or in person.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on April 20; the deadline for a proxy vote is 5pm on April 27.

For those who choose to vote in person, polling stations will be open on May 6. People voting in person are asked to bring their own pen or pencil, wear a face covering, clean hands when entering and leaving the station, and keep a safe distance from other voters.

Anyone with symptoms of coronavirus, or asked to self-isolate, should not go to the polling stations. There will be provisions in place to apply for an emergency proxy vote in case of medical circumstances.

Source link

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.